Explaining the Hiatus

I’m only behind on CSA postings by, oh, a month and a half. I planned on writing an entry each week on the experiences we have had working with a $15/week budget used at farmers’ markets and local farms–I’m missing roughly six weeks’ worth of entries.

Honestly, I feel guilty to a point. I don’t like promising things and not upholding my end of the deal. On the other hand, this isn’t a paying gig, and I doubt I have loads of readers waiting in trembling anticipation for a post on my CSA shares.

I’m not trying to be overly cynical–but when your family is still reeling from the job loss of the main breadwinner–it’s hard to stay motivated to write much of anything. It’s a day-by-day job just to try to stay happy, to keep going. We’re reasonably content all things considered, but it’s exhausting trying to make do, to wonder where your family will end up within the next couple months. The hardest part of this process is the uncertainty–what will we do, where will we be, how will we get there? Our routines are out of whack–I am working while my husband plays the role of “Mr. Mom,” a role which I knows leaves him tired and feeling out of sorts because he wants so much to work. He’s always been willing to help with the children, so it’s not that. It’s just that neither of us are really where we planned to be. I love my job very much, but it was supposed to be supplemental income and not the MAIN source. He never expected to be the one at home with the little ones.

So, be patient with me and mine as we work through job interviews, adjusted routines, uncertainty, and a new phase in our lives. I’ll catch up my entries in time. The reality of this blog is that it is meant to be a documentation of our journey, the good and the bad. It would be a disappointment if things were perfect all of the time, and I’d run out of things to write about. 😉

Leave a comment