Job Loss

Well, 48 hours ago, I didn’t have any idea or any inclination that my hubby would be losing his job. We’re definitely not where we ever remotely anticipated we would be. His company had been doing lay-offs here and there, but somehow, we always felt “safe,” because his department hadn’t experienced any and seemed viable. You just never know. But, it happened 24 hours ago–our main income, our insurance, everything disappeared. We have options, but when the floor is taken out from under your feet, it’s hard not to find yourself sobbing and shaking and asking why.

We’re starting to look at options, which has its good points (helps us to feel in control of our situation in some small measure, helps us to establish a game plan), but it’s difficult in others (trying to figure out insurance, realizing we might need unemployment or some sort of assistance for a while). I am terrified it will be months, even a year, before he finds another job. To be honest, I have heard from loved ones with good intentions who have told me, “Oh, it’s going to take such a long time for him to find work. There aren’t any jobs out there.” You know, that’s not what we need to hear. I need to look at this as our way out of our financial hole pre-job loss, and that it is our door to a better job and savings if we can find employment for him quickly. Maybe it’s false hope, but if we cave to “you’ll never find a job,” then we WON’T, you know? You don’t win by curling up in a ball in the fetal position on the playing field. 

I don’t know what will come of this. I’m angry. I’m scared. I’m still in shock. I never expected this, not really. At least we have my income from a brand new job, however small it is compared with the wages and the benefits from the job my husband lost. With this situation, we will be forced to change bad habits, will need to work together as a family, will need to assess wants/needs, and we will be wiser, less naive, less foolish. Maybe our family is just an expense that needed cut to a company, but I’ll be damned if I’m going to let bad luck and numbers win. Something good has to come from this, somehow.

4 thoughts on “Job Loss

  1. I have been thinking about you all day. It will take time but I am confident you will work things out. Stay a team don’t divide even over the smallest issue. We are living on less money right now than we ever have in our 40 years of marriage. It works. Sometimes it makes me so mad that we could not have done this years before and not try to work ourselves to death. Less is truly more.

  2. I am sorry to hear this, tough situation. At the beginning of the ressesion my husband was out of work for 3 months just as we had a newborn baby. Finally found a lower paid job, all wages had dropped because companies knew they could. Finally he is back to where he was, wage wise, in 2008. Luckily for us we have the NHS so no insurance worries for us, just all the other ones. I wish you well for the next few days and weeks whilst you work through it.

  3. I’m very sorry to hear about the situation you’re in. My significant other lost his job, very unexpectedly, roughly 2 months ago. I won’t lie – it’s not easy, BUT it does get easier. Things have a way of figuring themselves out, and you somehow just make do. Sending lots of positive thoughts/wishes your way.

  4. We have been living on far less with this economy. We have worked together as a couple to make things work ie garden etc. Thank goodness you have resources and skills that others do not have to survive. Hope you are doing better this week. Many others will learn through your experiences. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

