Product Review and GIVEAWAY: Molten Deep Dish Cookie Mix From Krusteaz

I’m SO very excited to offer our first sponsored giveaway. Thanks to Krusteaz, I’ll be reviewing their new Molten Deep Dish Cookie Mix line, perfect for back to school snacking, OR, as we’re doing, a lazy Sunday morning activity. AND, one of YOU dear readers will WIN the ENTIRE LINE of Krusteaz Molten Deep Dish Cookie Mixes! (Now, you’re excited, I bet!)

Have you heard of Krusteaz baking mixes? We absolutely love their products. I exclusively use their pancake and Honey Cornbread mixes for my personal baking, and I’ve made many of their bar and muffin mixes for special treats and get togethers. I can honestly say that their mixes have never failed me when I’ve needed a quick, yet satisfying treat.

When I was offered the chance to review their new Molten Deep Dish Cookie line, I was ecstatic. I love any baked good that promises a warm, gooey, chocolate-y (or caramel) filling. I love getting “molten lava” desserts when I am at restaurants, but have you ever seen recipes to try to make them at home? They are SO labor intensive, and with two little ones, who has the time?

I love the fact that this new mix offers the chewiness of a traditional cookie with the added bonus of a creamy center. They are available at most major grocery stores, for around $2.79 a box. They come in three flavors: Classic Cookie With a Chocolate Center, Sugar Cookie With a Chocolate Center, and Chocolate Cookie With a Caramel Center.

For this review, I will be focusing on the Classic Cookie With Chocolate Center, as I’m a bit traditional in my cookie taste.

Doesn’t this look divine?

910917D3A_FOB

I have to give a shout out to my awesome husband. I had a bit of a mishap with my ring finger and the edge of a butcher knife while washing dishes this morning, so he very graciously handled the baking for me. Thank you so much! I’m lucky to have a hubby who loves to cook and bake great treats!

Let’s get started, shall we?

DSC_0004


(Ignore the tape on the drawer. We’re replacing cabinet hardware right now.)

Now, you only need two ingredients in addition to the mix–1/3 cup softened butter and one egg.  That’s it. Very budget and pantry friendly.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray/grease a muffin pan, and soften the butter, if necessary.

Now, mix the butter, egg, and provided cookie mix (inside the box).

DSC_0010

One thing we noticed: It was hard to get the dough mixed together by hand. So, we put it into our Kitchenaid stand mixer, which worked well. If you have one, I recommend using it for this step.

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

Once the ingredients form a good dough, then roll the dough into 24 equal sized balls. One trick–separate the dough into two balls, then four, then eight, and then each of those eight balls can be rolled into three. This helps to keep the dough balls even.

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0023

Place one ball into each of the twelve muffin cups in your pan, and flatten it into the bottom. Reserve the remaining twelve dough balls for later.

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

Now, cut the corner off of the filling packet, and squeeze an equal amount onto the center of each flattened dough ball.

DSC_0031

DSC_0034

Now, flatten each remaining dough ball, and place on top of the prepared cookies to seal in the centers.

DSC_0044

Press down the edges to seal the cookies, if necessary. Then bake for 18-20 minutes! When they are ready, a knife around the edges helps to extract them from the pan.

DSC_0002 DSC_0006

Don’t they look yummy?!

They tasted just like a homemade cookie on the outside, a bit crunchy on the edges, but wonderfully and satisfyingly chewy at the same time. The chocolate filling was very creamy and warm, yet it didn’t overpower the cookie at all. I would recommend this product, for sure. It makes for an easy after school snack or a great dessert for a small get-together. The only complaint we have is the struggle we had mixing the dough, but an electric mixer solved that in a flash!

Now, for the part I know you are waiting for! One lucky reader will WIN the ENTIRE Molten Deep Dish Cookie Line from Krusteaz. The contest will end on September 22nd, 2013, at 11:59pm. How do you enter? Leave a comment on THIS blog post with your name and letting me know you liked my Facebook page

Additional entries can be earned if you add an additional comment here telling me what you will do with the prize if you win, comment that you shared this post on Facebook, and also a comment letting me know you follow my blog by email! I will verify the winning entry’s validity.

Winner will be chosen at random via http://www.random.org. Contest ends 9/22/2013 at 11:59pm. I will announce the winner here and on my Facebook page. If you win, you will have 48 hours to provide your information before I have to pick another winner!

DISCLAIMER: I was given the Molten Deep Dish Line to review, and that was my “compensation.” The review is 100% honest, and the giveaway, including shipping and handling of the prize, will be handled by Krusteaz!

18 thoughts on “Product Review and GIVEAWAY: Molten Deep Dish Cookie Mix From Krusteaz

  1. They look so good I’m going to have to buy a mix before the contest drawing! These would be great to make for a feed the missionaries dinner night at our house. I “liked” your fb page. btw…I love the name it reminds me of my favorite Robert Frost poem.

  2. I love their mixes too. One of our favs is the peanut butter cookies. I make them into bars and cover them with chocolate and peanut butter chips. Another favorite is the snicker doodle mix. My question on these cookies though is how do they taste the next day? Does the “lava” center reheat well in the microwave. Also, I’ve already like your fb page.

Leave a Reply

