A Tour & Review of Creation Laundry, the ONLY Solar Powered Laundromat in Maryland

I was recently presented with the opportunity to tour and review the services of Creation Laundry, located in Cumberland, Maryland. I was really excited to try out their business, as the eco-friendly/green side of me really digs the fact that Creation Laundry relies heavily on solar power.

Let me provide a little background information regarding my laundry habits….

In theory, I like doing my own laundry. I love the smell of freshly washed clothing. It’s so comforting to pull out a newly dried load of laundry from the dryer on a winter’s day. And oddly enough, contrary to what you would think, I really do love washing, drying, and folding our cloth diaper stash. It prolongs my toddler’s babyhood for me just a little bit.

However, the cloth diaper laundry is the only laundry I stay on top of, mainly out of necessity (cloth diaper stink is horrendous). Our little family generates one to two loads of laundry a day, so that can easily end up as 7-14 loads a week. And when do you have the time to keep up with that when you have little children? I have one child who is in school and has his own schedule that I must organize and manage, and when I am home, I have a toddler who is into everything, and it’s hard to leave her for more than a second to put the laundry into the wash, which is in our basement. This is NOT an exaggeration, but I usually have, on average, six or more loads of laundry waiting to be folded and put away on any given day in my living room. I just don’t have the time to truly have a handle on our wash.

So, in addition to their “green” traits, when I heard that Creation Laundry offered a Wash/Dry/Fold service, I decided I had to try it out. I know, I know, I have my own washer and dryer, but I simply DON’T have time these days to keep up with the laundry.

This is the exterior of the laundromat. Isn’t it adorable? (Yes, I appreciate cute…sue me. *wink*) It’s located on 313 Springdale Street in Cumberland, Maryland. There is ample parking in the rear of the building.

DSC_0786

They use Maytag machines, which actually stands out to me, as I love Maytag appliances and have had great luck with them myself.

DSC_0787

When you arrive, one of the first things that caught my attention is that someone always comes out to help you bring your laundry into the laundromat (and they help you reload it, too). Now, one of the things that I dreaded the most in this adventure was the loading and unloading of all of my laundry, but no worries…someone was there to help. And that scores MAJOR brownie points for me. Also, they have an attendant there at all times, so you can feel safe.

You have several options for actually washing and drying your clothing. You can choose to do the laundry yourself, and they have many options for machines. They offer 30, 40, and 60 pound washers that you can use yourself, provided you bring cash.

Their largest machine can wash six loads of laundry. And believe me, it does!

DSC_0805

I brought six loads of clothing with me. I opted to use their Wash/Dry/Fold service, where they do all of the work for you, but I did stay to see how it was all done and whether or not the washer really could handle six loads. You know what? Granted, I brought six smaller-sized loads of clothing, but when we were done, there was room for more in the machine. I am not kidding. You can feel free to use their detergent or bring your own. I brought my powdered Tide, as I wanted them to also wash our cloth diapers for us, since they will be starting a diaper service soon (more on that in a second).

In less time than it takes me to wash one load of clothing at home, that huge machine had all of my six loads washed and ready to be dried.

They have various sizes of dryers, too, and I tried one that can handle up to 75 pounds of wet clothing. It too had more room in it to spare. And it had my clothing dried in around an hour. Six loads of laundry washed in less than two hours. I was honestly VERY surprised. I really shouldn’t have been, however. On their website, the owner can actually fit into the dryer. Again, not even kidding (and yes, I am easily amused).

DSC_0796

So, you ask…what is there to do while you wait, should you choose to do your own washing?

There’s a television…

DSC_0794

A small play area…

DSC_0789

Snacks for purchase….

DSC_0809

DSC_0810

And my personal, sleepy favorite, a seating area with a rocking chair….

DSC_0790Wifi is also available.

My clothes were folded for me (I LOVE saying that), and I can honestly say that they were cleaner than they were when I normally wash them. I’m assuming it’s due to a much higher quality set of machines, but they were cleaner and fresher than those Ioads I do at home.

I also had them wash a load of our cloth diapers. They paid attention to everything I asked–they took into consideration the washing and drying instructions for each type of diaper and cover, they asked about my detergent preferences, and they were wonderfully clean and neat when they were finished with them. In fact, I am embarrassed to admit that I brought one seriously poopy diaper that I had washed and rinsed TWO times on my own, and it was still crusty, but they got it clean in one try. And I was so grateful for that, as I was considering tossing it, and diapers are NOT cheap. They will be setting their diaper service rates soon, but there will be a dedicated washer and dryer for diaper use only, which will be sterilized after each use, and your diapers will never be mixed with another customer’s load.

At first, my husband was skeptical of all this, as was I, mainly due to cost, considering we already have our own washer and dryer. But, to wash and dry six loads of laundry there on my own, it would have cost a little less than $10, and two hours of my time, instead of a full day. And their Wash/Dry/Fold services start at only 95 cents a pound (special fees apply for larger items like blankets and rugs). This business has VERY low cost services. And for us, time is as valuable as money, and what is the use of my own washer and dryer if I don’t always have the time to use it as I want? Having the help with my laundry is a blessing, and I think this would be great for new parents, busy or working families, and those who might have trouble doing their own laundry due to physical issues, etc. College students could easily find a lot of benefit to a Wash/Dry/Fold service that delivers and picks up your washing. They also can iron your clothing, too, which is great as I hate to iron. I honestly can’t see anyone that this DOESN’T benefit, and when you add the fact that their carbon footprint is so small, personally, I’m sold, and I would definitely return.

You can find Creation Laundry:

at their website

on Facebook

DISCLAIMER: I was provided six loads worth of Wash/Dry/Fold service, plus a Wash/Dry load of cloth diapers, in exchange for my review. I approached the business on my own out of my own curiosity. The review is 100% honest, as always.

Leave a Reply

