Tricks of the Trade–A Few Tips For Making Meatballs

I’m a meatball newbie. Sure, I’ve made them before, but I always encountered problems. The mixture wasn’t evenly combined, the meatballs wouldn’t cook evenly, and I’d leave feeling frustrated.

However, thanks to the glories of Facebook and the interwebs, as well as trial and error, I’ve learned a couple tricks for making the job easier.

The recipe I’m using is from Betty Crocker, and it is ridiculously simple and scrumptious. The “tips” will follow the post.

1
lb lean (at least 80%) ground beef
1/2
cup Italian-style bread crumbs
1/4
cup milk
1/2
teaspoon salt
1/2
teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1/4
teaspoon pepper
1
small onion, finely chopped (1/4 cup)
1
egg
Heat oven to 400°F. Line 13×9-inch pan with foil; spray with cooking spray. 
In large bowl, mix all ingredients. Shape mixture into 20 to 24 (1 1/2-inch) meatballs. Place 1 inch apart in pan.
Bake uncovered 18 to 22 minutes or until no longer pink in center.
Now, whether it is meatballs or meat loaf, there is one foolproof way of making sure your meat mixture is thoroughly combined…and that is my dear friend, my Kitchenaid.
DSC_0682
If you have one, make sure you use it for more than just baking. It does an excellent job mixing an evenly combined meatball mixture (or meatloaf, etc.)
To make uniform (or closely uniform, anyway) meatballs, pat your meat mixture onto a solid surface, like a cutting board, in a roughly 6″ x 4″ square.
DSC_0684
(Notice, I said “roughly.” Of course, since I am blogging this, I can’t get it close to save my life.)
With a butter knife, cut mixture into six rows and four columns (basically, into 24 balls).
DSC_0685
DSC_0687
Then roll into balls and place into pan! Bake as indicated!
DSC_0689
DSC_0690
Isn’t that easy?
One thought on “Tricks of the Trade–A Few Tips For Making Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Kretschmer Wheat Germ Review and GIVEAWAY (Ends 10/24/13) | This Path Less Traveled...

Leave a Reply

