Natural and Home Remedies for Allergies

I have a red, snot crusted nose, bloodshot eyes, a pain in my throat, and a tickle in my nostrils. With every movement, I sneeze. I’m using eye drops and ear drops like they are candy. My beloved kitty has temporarily become my mortal enemy.

Yep, it’s that most wonderful time of the year–my personal allergy season.

I won’t lie…I’m in utter misery. In desperation, I turned to Facebook and friends to help me find some relief that doesn’t come with its own advertising budget. I was thrilled to get a lot of responses, though it made me realize that I am not the only one suffering! 😦 Here are some suggestions for relief–

1) A Neti Pot/Neil Med. I admit I haven’t tried this, as I feel a bit squeamish squirting things into my nose (even nasal sprays give me an icky sensation). But, thousands of people swear by this remedy, and it’s enough to peak my interest. It works by flushing the nasal cavities with a saline solution that will help relieve inflammation in your sinuses. You can find more information here.

2) Local honey.

Honey

Honey (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The theory behind this natural remedy is that, by buying local honey, you’ll get exposure little by little (and therefore, a tolerance) to regional pollens through the work of the bees. Some doctors dispute this theory, but seeing as I am also a food storage buff who keeps local honey by the pounds, and that this remedy is super yummy, really, I have little to lose. Make sure it is indeed locally produced honey to be able to reap the benefits of the bees’ exposure to your region’s pollen. Also, store bought honey lacks regulation, and a little bear of supposedly 100% honey in the grocery store can actually legally contain other ingredients–like corn syrup!

3) Elderberries. Our great grandmothers and new moms alike  recommend this to treat allergies. Elderberries are purported to ease respiratory ailments like colds and allergies, and have been used for centuries medicinally. I have seen elderberry syrups, and I’ve ever seen elderberry gummies. Another yummy method to try, whether it works or not.

English: Elderberries Ripe elderberries growin...

English: Elderberries Ripe elderberries growing by the Roman wall at Calleva Atrebatum. Elderberries can be used in a number of ways, including making elderberry wine. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

4) Herbal teas. Is it me, or are a lot of these remedies sounding really tasty? I wonder if there is a connection between the herbal teas and honey, as honey also contains the cough suppressant dextromethorphan, which is in many over the counter cough medications. There must be something in the warmth of the tea that can help ease a sore throat, and I’m sure you can find a combination of herbs that have reported success with allergies. (There seems to be an herb to help ease just about any ailment.)  Some swear by chamomile, others swear by hone and lemon in their herbal teas. I think you’re likely to find even temporary relief either way due to the soothing steam and warmth the tea provides.

What do you use to combat allergy symptoms naturally?

4 thoughts on “Natural and Home Remedies for Allergies

  1. Pingback: Ask a Pixie: Seasonal Allergies | Pixie's Pocket

Leave a Reply

