South Branch Valley Railroad, WV

I spotted this Chessie System locomotive yesterday while I was out with my parents, who were in town for a visit. Today, I went back out to look for it again, and I stopped at the home of an elderly woman to ask if I could snap pictures from her fields. She topped that and told us how to get right up next to the railroad tracks. I wanted to send her a hundred thank you notes and a bouquet of flowers. This Chessie System paint scheme is a happy memory from my childhood in West Virginia. This rail line serves farmers and the community within the area. There are only a handful of locomotives bearing the Chessie paint, and I am fairly certain this is the only one in the United States that is in actual operation.DSC_0081

 

DSC_0060

DSC_0041

DSC_0096

Leave a Reply

