Trail Inn B&B and Western Maryland Scenic Railroad

My husband and I won a one night stay in a Queen Room at Trail Inn Bed and Breakfast in Frostburg, MD. We won the prize at the Great Cloth Diaper Change 2013 back in April, and I was waiting for just the right time to redeem it.

DSC_0412

Our room…I’m in LOVE with the bed frame. Seriously. I want it. On their website (http://www.trailinnatfrostburg.com), in one of the other rooms, they have bunk beds that look like this, too. I am smitten. The room was very clean, and I loved the rustic, country decor. They had cable television in the room as well, which was nice, since hubby and I canceled ours almost a year ago. The only suggestion I have would be the option to rent a mini fridge, if needed, as we had leftovers and dessert we wanted to keep and couldn’t. However, it is only a suggestion, as the stay was indeed free. 🙂 One of the things I loved the most was how quiet it is…we didn’t hear any of the neighbors near us, and for being near a city, the surroundings were quiet and peaceful. That was what I loved the most–feeling miles away without having to be. I had a wonderful stay!DSC_0455

The inn is across from the Frostburg depot of the Western Maryland Scenic Railroad…isn’t it charming?

DSC_0485

The front of the inn. They also have a restaurant/cafe, a campground, and a variety of rooms that can accommodate groups as well.

DSC_0488

DSC_0472

The inn is also situated along the Great Allegheny Passage, a very scenic bike trail through the Allegheny Mountains and Laurel Highlands that goes from Cumberland, MD to Pittsburgh, PA.

The day after our stay, my husband and I went on an excursion from Cumberland to Frostburg on the Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, which is pulled by a steam engine built in 1916. It was my fourth time on the train, and my husband’s second. The ride is special to me, as I went on it once with my grandfather, who passed on recently, and had a passion for railroading. During our layover in Frostburg, we were even asked up into the steam locomotive. I was so excited. I felt like a kid again!

The main station in Cumberland, MD.

DSC_0002

Prepping the locomotive.

DSC_0005

I love this machine.

DSC_0013

Helmstetter’s Curve.

DSC_0049

At the depot in Frostburg.

DSC_0066

On the turntable.

DSC_0118

Inside the locomotive.

DSC_0235

Getting ready to return home!DSC_0226

One thought on “Trail Inn B&B and Western Maryland Scenic Railroad

  1. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday : Old Hotel | I see beauty all around by rob paine

Leave a Reply

