“Hawaiian Dreams” Cake

I’m always up for a challenge, and I saw this recipe circulating around Facebook, and decided to give it a whirl.

DISCLAIMER: I ran into a few self-induced issues–like trekking about twenty miles total to find Cool Whip in my rural community. I found one lonely carton behind a row of Texas Toast in a convenience store. I also neglected to let said Cool Whip thaw, so in my haste, the topping is clumpy. Last disclaimer–I was supposed to use crushed pineapple and didn’t have any, so I used pineapple chunks, which I figured would turn into crushed pineapple anyway, once my Kitchenaid mixer was done with it.

Anyway, preheat your oven to 350 degrees, and grease and flour a 9 X 13 pan.

Drain a 20 ounce can of crushed pineapple, keeping the juice–set aside the pineapple. Keep the juice handy. You’ll use it first.

DSC_0074

Prepare a yellow cake mix per package instructions EXCEPT use the pineapple juice and water in place of the pure water (if your pineapple juice comes up short, you can add a bit of water to it).

DSC_0069

DSC_0075

DSC_0078

DSC_0081

DSC_0083

DSC_0084

Bake according to instructions. Remove cake from oven once ready and allow to cool.

Take one 8 ounce package of softened cream cheese, one package instant pudding mix, and 1 cup milk and mix until smooth.

DSC_0091

DSC_0094

Add in the reserved pineapple.

Use this mixture to top your cooled cake.

DSC_0097

Add one carton of Cool Whip on top of the cake and cream cheese.  Spread.

DSC_0100

DSC_0101

Cover and refrigerate for a few hours before serving.

Leave a Reply

