Soapmaking Class on the Farm

I was able to spend a gorgeous Saturday morning at Goodness Grows in Bedford, PA. I signed up to attend a goat’s milk soapmaking class, and I was anxious both to learn a new skill and to take pictures of their beautiful property. Dawn did a fabulous job showing us how to make our own soaps, and I felt like, with the right equipment, even my clumsy self could potentially have success with the task in my own home. Between learning a traditional art and being able to tromp around in the barn, I honestly felt like my spirit had been renewed. It was something I desperately needed right now, and I’m grateful they took the time to have us out to the farm.

I’m sharing some pics of the day, and afterward, I’ll share a recipe for the soap.

DSC_0322

DSC_0377

DSC_0373

DSC_0371

Baby Sugar

Baby Sugar

 

Sugar

Sugar

 

DSC_0329

DSC_0327

Lye turns the milk orange

Lye turns the milk orange

 

DSC_0333

Adding some honey

Mixing everything (all the ingredients but the fragrance)

Mixing everything (all the ingredients but the fragrance). We wanted to add oatmeal.

Time to make it smell nice

Time to make it smell nice

DSC_0343

 

I’m adding a link for a recipe for goat’s milk soap–it’s relatively similar to what we made, though we used lard/tallow, instead of the shortening (we did add some oils…various oils add certain qualities to the soap…coconut oil, for example, helps it to lather), and ours had glycerin and borax, etc), but it is close.

http://www.marthastewart.com/265890/dr-brent-ridges-goat-milk-soap

 

2 thoughts on “Soapmaking Class on the Farm

Leave a Reply

